Recent adventures in Crusader Kings III

As much as I like Crusader Kings III, the past was just a bad place for some people (and with the recent DLC introducing plagues, a bad place for a lot of people) and I wanted to spice things up a bit. It all started with allowing same-sex couples and making the game favour women over men… Only for me to realize that there is a difference between couples and showing your love – and marriage. So, I started a new game that allows same-sex marriages. I am still playing with women over men because I love this alternate reality (in which nothing changes except that now it’s women causing the wars and fighting and intrigues). But I also added random religion distribution!

Instead of the Holy Roman Empire being a whole lot of white Catholism on the map, it is now a melting pot of different faiths. Most of which I have never heard of before. The last time I checked, I did have religion classes at school. For all 13 years even. But it was very Christianism-centric and we hardly ever heard about anything else… It’s a shame, really, because it’s a fascinating subject. But I digress.

Crusader Kings 3 - Map with random religions

I chose to play with the tutorial ruler, infamous Murchad mac Donnchad. He is an Irish Sedist.

After a bit more than 50 years later, the Kingdom of Ireland has formed and is in firm female hands. Some faiths seem to have spread a bit more than others. I decided to convert to Isma’ilism as it allows several marriages which I find easier to keep track of than having consorts and concubines while being Sedist. Also, hardly anyone on the map followed that faith and it was easier to switch to one that some of my duchies were following already at the time.

Especially the Holy Roman Empire seems to love its Christianity, though, with the Orthodox faith spreading fast. I zoomed out more in this map than I did in the beginning of the game (yes, European-centric person here… can you tell?) and realized that some other faiths have big patches on the world map as well now.

Crusader Kings 3 - Random religions 1119 AD

It definitely makes everything a bit more complex because it is far less likely to find neighbours with the same faith. At the same time, it is also fun because it’s less predictable which faith is going to spread and become dominant.

2 Comments

    1. They’re part of the base game, I think. At least, I didn’t add a mod that specifically adds these options. And what’s also cool is that a homosexual couple can adopt children which makes this very viable to play!

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.