Looking forward to… in 2024

Prison Architect 2

We have just moved on from 2023 to 2024 and the next new game releases are already around the corner! It actually feels like there are a lot of games going to release in the first couple of months of 2024 that I am interested in. In theory, this is great. But since time is a limited resource (as is money to buy said games), it’s not as great as it sounds when you are like me and can’t prioritize. I want them all!

January

For me, the first big moment will be on January 22, when The Universim will finally launch out of Early Access! I do own the game already as I bought it back in 2018 or 2019. However, I have not spent much time playing it at all because they had a system that made the old game saves unplayable whenever a bigger patch arrived. It happened to me two or three times that a patch came just after I had started a new game, so I had to start all over again. I decided to just wait for the game’s release. Little did I know it would still be so many years away (I last played in 2020). So, I am excited but also cautious because I really don’t know what state the game will be in when it releases.

The Universim

March

Life By You will release into Early Access on March 5. And I am left wondering: Why hasn’t there been a The Sims-“clone” before? Or has there been one and I just don’t know about it… Either way, it’s about time this series gets some competition – hopefully good competition! It is published by Paradox and I generally do like their games.

Life By You
Life By You

Suzerain: Kingdom of Rizia will release on March 25. This is a DLC for a story-based political simulator game which I really loved playing! It came as a big surprise that they are making a DLC. I don’t know yet what to expect, though, because with the base game, I finished the story and as it branches, there is different outcomes. Does it even integrate to the base game? But as Suzerain is required in order to play Kingdom of Rizia, I guess it does somehow interact with each other? Either way, I know I want it!

Suzerain Notes
Suzerain

A little surprise sneaked in a few days ago: Prison Architect 2 which will be released on March 26. I loved Prison Architect and am really looking forward to see what Paradox is doing with the sequel. But with the price being 39.99 €, I am waiting to see some reviews first.

Prison Architect 2
Prison Architect 2

April

I assume that a lot of people who are interested in this genre have heard and probably also tried Manor Lords. I frequently see it on “most anticipated” lists. On April 26, this game will go into Early Access. When I played the demo, I was a bit “meh” about it, but I think that’s because I had heard so many good things before that my expectations were too high. When I tried it again a few days later, I liked it much better already. So, I have stayed away from any news about the game and will just take a look at it again when it enters Early Access. It is pretty, though…

Manor Lords Demo
Manor Lords Demo

 

At some point in 2024… or maybe not…

Galacticare lists Q1 2024 as release date and I do hope that they can make that happen because I loved playing the demo and I would really love to play the finished game!

Galacticare
Galacticare Demo

It’s time we get some more good Star Trek games, so hopefully Star Trek: Resurgence will be one! I personally really liked Star Trek Online and the latest game, Star Trek: Infinity is alright. We will see how this one fares. This game is listed to release in Q2 2024. There is no price tag on Steam, but you can pre-purchase it in the Epic store for 35.99 €. This is definitely a game where I will wait for reviews first!

Star Trek: Resurgence
Star Trek: Resurgence

 

For most of 2023, I had not heard anything at all about Tavern Keeper and I was worried that we would not get to see the game. But they have recently started doing more updates and the Steam page says that the game will be released in Q3 of 2024. The major criticism for this game is the lack of upper arms. I guess when you’re playing the game, you probably won’t notice it, but when I look at the screenshots, it’s weird. There’s a hole! But if the gameplay is good, then I can live with that.

Tavern Keeper
Tavern Keeper

5 Comments

    1. Yes, I definitely like what I’m seeing about this game. :) I also really liked their first game, Game Dev Tycoon, so I hope for another good game from this developer!

      Like

  1. Universim was one I kickstarted way back in the day, so definitely keen to give the 1.0 try when it lands. I’ve given it a few tries over the years as big releases have come, but nothing really too heavy.

    Life by You looks interesting as well; but from the trailer I’m kinda curious how much ‘game’ it is, and how much ‘life builder’ it is by way of scripts and tooling to, in essence, control your NPC puppets as you see fit. xD

    I’m sure there *will* be default behaviours and a play experience though, so I guess we’ll just have to see!

    Like

    1. Yes, I am not sure there is that much information about Life by You yet. Although I have also not followed it too closely. Too many games, not enough time. But if I end up playing it or not, I am definitely rooting for the game because the Sims does need competition.

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.