Late to the (PvP) party?

Trion hosted a PvP-focused Rift livestream on Friday* and I realized that I only played a handful of PvP games in Rift and that was years ago already. Thankfully, there is no open world PvP (there is a PvP server but I don’t play on that one). On the contrary, both factions can play together rather easily and even be in the same guild which is something that I really love. But the game features warfronts (instanced PvP like battlegrounds in World of Warcraft, scenarios in Warhammer Online, sPvP in Guild Wars 2) and this is something I really enjoyed doing back in World of Warcraft. In fact, there were times where I did nothing else in World of Warcraft. In Warhammer, I far enjoyed the open world RvR, but that’s a different story…

Anyway, I realized that I hardly ever play PvP in Rift and I am not sure why. It’s not the combat, at least. I really prefer the more action-oriented combat in Guild Wars 2 over the “slow and static” combat in Rift by now, but World of Warcraft and Rift are very similar in that aspect and it was never a hindrance in World of Warcraft.

I just had a look at low-level brackets in Rift for their warfronts, but it seemed as if nobody was playing it and that’s where I feel very intimidated: Should I just up and enter a warfront with my level 70 cleric without having any appropriate gear, build or experience while the majority of other players probably know exactly what they’re doing? I wouldn’t know where to walk or what to avoid doing and I’d feel like a burden on the others. I really hate the latter. I want to help and support my team, but I don’t want to be a burden.

So my main concern right now is how to dip my toes into Rift warfronts. Maybe I should try to hunt down videos or even people streaming Rift PvP? Or have a look at the forums to see what people are talking about (other than whining about class imbalance :p). I would also really like to heal in warfronts. So I guess I should also take a look at which class would be best for that. My main is a level 70 cleric, but I also have a level 65 warrior and mage. Since every class can heal in Rift, I do have some choices here – hopefully. Level 65-70 didn’t take too long, after all. My Primalist is only level 20 and I am not sure if there even are people playing low level warfronts. So yeah, time to do some research here and hopefully catch up a little with others who have years of experience playing warfronts.

*By the way: All warfronts are returning after they tried to “streamline” the experience by taking away some maps (May 3 is the tentative date)! Apparently, players complained about there being too many warfronts in the “random” rotation, but taking them away wasn’t the best solution since players missed the variety.

What do you think?

