Primalist and cross-promotions

All of Trion’s own games (Defiance, Rift and Trove) are receiving some cross-promotion rewards when you log into their newest game, Atlas Reactor, this weekend (to be more precise, between Friday, Oct. 7 at 5:00pm (PT) and Sunday, Oct. 9 at 11:59pm (PT)). In Rift, everybody gets 15 days of free Patron time. If you’re in the USA, you can also win a pack with all of their mounts. In Trove, you get two Empowered Gem Boxes. In Defiance, you get 15 days of Patron time (if you’re playing on the PC) and 2 x 15 inventory slots (both for PC and console players).

Logging into Atlas Reactor seems to be enough to get these rewards. So if you really don’t care about the game, just install it briefly, log in, check if you got the rewards in your game(s) and uninstall the game again. Or… give it a try! :p Despite it being advertised as a turn-based PvP game, you can perfectly play it as a PvE game with or without other players, by the way!

So with 15 days of Patron time in Rift also comes a 10 % discount in their store. I completely missed that they had reduced the cost of their additional class, the Primalist, back in April. It’s still not cheap if you ask me, – about 28 € without the discount – but with the discount, I decided it’s time to get the Primalist. I like having all classes unlocked in my MMOs! What I had not considered was that I also needed another character slot. Thankfully, I was not at the maximum amount already (12) and “only” had to buy another slot and character slots are reasonably cheap.

After that, the usual “obstacles” occurred. Do I really want a 5th dwarf? I already have one elf in both factions and for me, that’s about 1.5 elves more than I have on average in most other games that have that race. ;) I chose to try out a human on guardian side (a Mathosian) instead since I do not have one. Yeah, I’m not a fan of humans either, because they are too ordinary for fantasy games. So I’m not really sure why I chose this one… I just figured it might be nice to have something non-dwarf for once and the other non-elf non-human is the Bahmi race which I found too big and bulky for my taste. So, welcome, little Ghamina. May you grow a few levels before the expansion arrives and you’ll be put back on the shelf as my dwarf cleric will take over again! Also, I can’t believe I had not saved or used the name Ghamina on that shard until now…

rift_primalist_ghamina

2 thoughts on “Primalist and cross-promotions

  1. I have a primalist to level 43, and still don’t really understand the point of it. I literally have 3 things on my hotbar. Which is ok, except it’s rather boring. You only get soul tree points every other level (you have 31 instead of 65 if I recall) and .. I dunno. I’m going to keep on leveling it and see if it gets better.

    Like

    1. Yes, 31. I don’t actually mind that, though. I think the 65 are too many, especially since most builds ask you to put all points into the main tree anyway.

      And not having too many skills on my rotation isn’t bad for me either, because it’s easier to memorize them. I sometimes have a hard time getting back into playing my cleric or my mage when I’ve been away from the combat in Rift for too long. :p But we’ll see how “bad” or “good” it is once my primalist is a bit higher. With level 10, it’s really hard to judge here.

      Still, overall it does seem a bit odd that this class gets such different talent trees…

      Like

What do you think?

