The end of Blaugust 2016 (Blaugust Post 18)

I have decided to “stop” with Blaugust. As always, it is a great initiative, but as I initially wrote, I will have to see if it interferes with my other duties, most of all my Real Life. The good news is: It’s not really interfering. The bad news is: There’s this pressure on my mind and the constant thought of “what could I blog about next?” and “I still need to do x amount of blog posts.”

The most important thing for me to do is to reduce the amount of “must do”-tasks in my head. Unfortunately, Blaugust is such a thing and it is also one of the few tasks that I do not have to do, but chose to do. Still, this is the 18th post, so I did more than half of what I had aimed for. :)

In the end, I still really love blogging months as they do encourage me to write blog posts and think about what I could put here in this blog. It is just not the time to focus on writing one blog post per day and that’s why I decide to throw out that (voluntary) goal. I also still have several more topics to write about this month (announcing the winners of the current two open giveaways, for example). So this will definitely not be the last post this month! However, saying that I “stop” with Blaugust takes away the pressure on my mind and that will be a relief. It is supposed to be fun, after all!

We are also doing some planning “behind the scenes”. For example, we want to use our YouTube channel more often (as opposed to not at all currently :p). Though this isn’t my field of expertise. This will be bookahnerk’s little corner who has enough of being be “man for everything” in the background and wants to get creative as well!

Currently, I am also trying to play too many games and this, of course, also interferes with my time I could spend blogging. On the other hand, I cannot blog about games if I don’t actually play them! I just bought Sengoku for bookahnerk and for myself (Paradox is having a summer sale) where I have no clue what I’m doing and I want to give Path of Exile a serious try this time. If anybody can point me at a good templar build, by the way… :p I also don’t really know how I ended up in The Secret World again. This one is definitely not a game that I will play a lot, but something reminded me of the game recently and I want to take another look and see if I can explore a bit more. The setting is so intriguing and fascinating! I just kind of wish it was a single player RPG.

And I also sorted my Steam games library, as there is always this large list of games tempting me. I made a new category where I put all the games that I have no interest in playing. Some because I already finished them and don’t want to re-play them or they became obsolete (Anno 1404, as the launcher is Anno 1404: Venice). Others were part of a bundle and I am not interested in playing them and then there are – fortunately – just a handful of games that I bought and then found out that I did not like them at all! The latter really is the smallest section of games.

I was considering maybe trying out the ones that I did not sort “away”, because I may be interested in trying them but that I have never played and writing about my impressions about them here. That way, I do actually play them and don’t feel like I wasted money (even if they were part of a bundle), but I still do not commit to playing them for a long time. I usually don’t even start most of these games, after all, as it feels silly just to start a game and play for an hour if I then never even want to continue. But this way, they have a purpose. ;)

What do you think?

