5 years of Nerdy Bookahs!

5 years ago, I certainly was not expecting this little “blog project” to be running for such a long time. I did not even know whether it would last for longer than a month before I would lose interest. But here we are and the blog is as alive as it was back then. Let’s have a closer look at those 5 years…

The archives show that we did publish something in every single month since March 2011. Of course, there were also some “slow months”.

Guild Wars_Dancing Derwish

January 2013, December 2013 and July 2014 were the laziest ones with only two blog posts each. January and December are usually pretty “busy” months for me. There is often lots of work left to do before I can go on Christmas break and then, of course, there is Christmas and New Year’s which is always spent with family here and travelling to visit part of said family. So while I do theoretically have lots of free time at the end of December and beginning of January, that time is often spent away from the PC. July 2014 is easy to explain. It was both an awesome month and a really annoying month. We had moved into our new flat and at the same time, I had to fight off several nasty colds and a really bad rash covering my whole face which led to countless sleepless nights. Due to all of this, I had also decided to go on “summer break” with this blog. The first and only time I did that while running this blog. Hey, in hindsight, I should have probably used those nights to write some blog posts. Something fun and productive to do in the middle of the night. :p

The busiest months were November 2013 with 31 posts and August 2015 with 33 posts. Both those months were part of some blogging month-campaigns (NaBloPoMo and Blaugust).

Altogether, within those 5 years we published a little bit more than 500 blog posts. So, about 100 posts per year.

Our top 3 posts are:

  1. How to switch between the starter areas in Guild Wars 2
  2. Guild Wars 2: Regions by level
  3. Guild Wars 2: A FAQ for new players

And our top non-GW2 post is Trove: Biomes and their map colours.

We don’t publish that many guides, but apparently, if we do, they have staying power. :) The FAQ is the only one that is horribly outdated by now, though. I try to keep the others up-to-date because they are still very popular and I would hate to have people come here and be disappointed to only find outdated guides.

Now, as you can guess, Guild Wars 2 and Trove were part of my blogging life. Other than that, the main games I’ve been writing about are Rift and the newest addition, Wildstar. Lord of the Rings Online and Warhammer Online only got a few mentions with lots of eye-rolling on my part as I had already fallen out of love with both of these games.

My favourite “project” here in our blog has been and still is the Guild Wars 2 Screenshot Gallery. I don’t think I will ever be done with it, though, but at least, it always gives me something to do!

My favourite “one time” blog post was the Underwear Fashion Show. Unfortunately, Guild Wars 2 is very boring when it comes to underwear with no differences between classes as we had in Guild Wars.

GW2 male asura in underwear

And then there are my favourite “off topic” blog posts, the cooking recipes: Tiramisu Cheesecake (still a favourite among my friends and family), Flammkuchen and lentils soup. I wonder when the muse will hit me again to publish another cooking recipe… :p

The best part of this journey, however, has been getting to know so many other people and making new friends, some only online so far (one day, Nick, we will have breakfast together on your terrace!) and even more so those that we have been able to meet in person. Then again, this is not “just” the blog, this is the strength of the internet which enables you to make friends that you would have never even met otherwise.

Fireworks 2nd anniversary

And last but not least, a big thank you to all the readers – yes, all of you! The ones who come here regularly, the ones who just come here once in a while, the ones who only stop by one single time, those who leave comments and the silent ones! While I really enjoy writing and would keep this blog even if nobody read it, knowing that out there in this huge big world are people interested in what I write is awesome and some extra motivation for me to keep writing and sharing my thoughts! :)

So, here is to another 5 years… at least!

2 thoughts on “5 years of Nerdy Bookahs!

  1. Congratulations on the blog anniversary! :D

    I don’t remember how long ago I start reading your blog (probably a bit more than Guild Wars 2 age… So… Hmm… A little over 2 years?) but since I started it has been one of my favorite blogs and I don’t see that changing any time soon. So thanks for blogging and here is hoping to read it for many years to come! :)

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

