5 years of Rift…

Since Rift and our blog are almost exactly the same age, I always get very nostalgic when I read about their anniversary preparations. As always I am looking forward to the Carnival of the Ascended, even though I am currently taking a break from playing Rift. I don’t think I will manage to stay away from that game during the carnival. At least, I think there are some nice rewards attached to that festival usually.

Either way, Trion also announced some big events connected to the anniversary. It sounded really great at first, but then I realized that it’s a “if you belong to the most active 1000 players, you have a chance at winning something”. Me having a fulltime job means I am automatically out of the competition. That’s a bit sad, actually. I guess it’s for the best of the game, though, because it means that there will be a lot of activity on the servers. But for me personally, as a player, it’s a bit disappointing. Still, more activity in the game also means that if I do log in and want to play, I will have lots more players with me and that is always good in an MMORPG.

If you want to participate in those events, you can find all rules and regulations here in the official forum and a blog post with more general information on the official website.

I was a bit confused when I had a look at my old screenshot as I had completely forgotten that there was a long headstart period starting in February. So here is the very first scenery screenshot I think I took.

Rift Scenery Starting Area

And here is one from my favourite region in that world, Gloamwood. This is where I enjoyed following the main storyline the most! Seriously, if you want to play Rift, make sure to give the storylines a chance until you’re in that region (it starts around level 20).

Rift Gloamwood

So congratulations to Trion and to Rift and let’s hope the game will stick around for a long long time!

What do you think?

