The game I didn’t think I would like (Blaugust Day 21)

Another Blaugust writing prompt today. This time, from Gryph:

“Has there ever been a game you were 100% sure you wouldn’t like, despite never playing it, that you later discovered was actually pretty interesting/good/better than you thought? What were your assumptions, and in what ways were they mistaken?”

Two games come to my mind, but for different reasons. The first game is “Team Fortress 2” which I thought my body would not like. I have rather bad simulation sickness which can cause me to feel nauseous for hours. The worst part was when bookahnerk showed me the space flight in Star Wars Galaxies. He guesses that I watched him fly for maybe 5 minutes, possibly less. I spent about two hours afterwards trying to get my stomach to calm down. This always happens in “first person” games. Some are better, some are worse, but the result is that after 5 minutes, I get sick. However, I wanted to try out Team Fortress 2, because I wanted to try out a first person shooter (I obviously never did so before…). And as it turned out, for whatever reasons, my body liked the game! For a total of 20 to 30 minutes at a time with an extra lamp on my desk shining on the monitor (I read somewhere that this is supposed to help and yes, it did!), I was able to play that game. I played a few sessions with and against NPCs for a few days and then gave up. Because even if my body can take a bit, it’s still not a great feeling and – as it turns out – I am no good at this game. I can’t aim at all!

Trine 2

So that was the one game that I knew my body wouldn’t like. Now for the game that I thought my mind wouldn’t like… :p It turned out to be Trine 2! Somebody had recommended the game to me and told me that I just had to try it out! I had a look at it on Steam, but did not download the demo. The game description reads

“Trine 2 is a sidescrolling game of action, puzzles and platforming where you play as one of Three Heroes who make their way through dangers untold in a fantastical fairytale world.”

I am not a fan of sidescrolling games. I tolerated it in Terraria, but I don’t really like it. And while I do love puzzles in games, I am also very impatient and get annoyed when I can’t progress or need to look up the solution online. So one could say that in theory, I love the idea of having the option of solving a puzzle, but that’s quite often where the fun ends for me already. Last but not least, a platformer game? Definitely no! Nothing in that description made me want to check out the game. Except for one thing: The screenshots looked kind of pretty.

I did eventually try it out. I don’t remember why… possibly because said friend asked me several times if I had given it a try already. Also possibly because the screenshots had looked so gorgeous! And maybe it was on sale at the time, because this is usually when I try out a game, even if it doesn’t 100 % appeal to me at first. But here, the case was different. I started the game knowing very well I would not like it!

Then the music started playing, the narrator told me about the story and I instantly felt enchanted by the world in front of me. So enchanted, in fact, that I had gotten out my wallet without realizing it and immediately bought the game… yeah, maybe I’m exaggerating a bit now. I had started playing it, realized I actually did really enjoy it and then excitedly told bookahnerk about it who was just as surprised as I was that I liked this kind of game. I bought it about an hour or two later.

Trine 2

It doesn’t come as a big surprise that I still haven’t finished playing the game. I never got far. But one day, I hopefully will continue playing it! The money was still very well spent, as the soundtrack was part of the purchase and I’ve listened to it so often by now!

A bit earlier today, I was also reminded that Trine 3 will release on August 20 (not only on Steam, but apparently DRM-free at GOG.com, too). I probably won’t buy it right away, but it’s tempting… very very tempting. Especially since they say that the soundtrack will be included. :p

 

This post is part of Blaugust 2015.

What do you think?

