The annual question: Do I still want to write about games?

… Or isn’t a cooking blog what I want to do instead… Hmm… tough decision, really. While I’m pondering whether I’ll quit writing about games, I’ll give you a recipe of a lentil soup that I’ve known for ages. My mum often made it and even though our tastes in food are rather different by now, this is one of the few recipes from her that I regularly make for me and bookahnerk – and friends, too, of course!

Linsensuppe_Bild 5

Be careful, though. As is common for typical German dishes, this one isn’t exactly low on calories. I usually prepare it on days when I’ve exercised. :p Also, the amounts I’m giving you are just the amounts I’ve used when I prepared it the last time. But really, it’s up to you how much you want to add of which ingredient (e.g. much more potatoes, not that much sausage). The great thing about this recipe is that it’s easy, fail proof and it can be altered! :)

Ingredients:

  • Lentils (“Tellerlinsen” to be more precise)
  • (Waxy) Potatoes
  • Pork Sausage
  • Cabanossi (we tried Chorizo once, that worked as well. The pictures here show some other kind of red sausage, but I can’t find a good translation for it)
  • Water, salt and pepper

For the amount I use in the recipe, try this converter if you’re not working with grammes usually.

Put about 200 g of the lentils in a pot. Then take about 3 potatoes (300 grammes), wash them, then simply cut them into pieces and put them with the lentils. If you prefer, you can also peel the skin off first. I’m just usually too lazy and since we like it with the skin anyway, we just don’t bother. The potatoes we use here are waxy ones, by the way, so it’s not bad if they’re boiling a bit longer. Add about 3 litres of water to the lentils and the potatoes and then turn on the stove. Let them boil for 45 minutes. Very important: Do not add salt or the process will take longer! Also make sure the water isn’t boiling too much, so it doesn’t boil over.

Cut the sausages into small pieces (get rid of the skin if it’s not edible!). When the lentils are done, add the sausages, salt and pepper. Let it boil for a few more minutes.

And – that’s it. Really. It’s an easy soup. Nothing special or fancy, but as I said, I really love it. There are a lot of variations out there and I guess almost every household has a different recipe. Ours belongs to the “very simple” kind. :p You can also add carrot pieces if you like. Since my stomach doesn’t like raw carrots, I only ever buy them if we have several meals planned with cooked or baked carrots. Which means that most often, we don’t add any carrots to this soup. But it is a great addition. And some more vegetables never hurt, right? ;)

Related posts:

One thought on “The annual question: Do I still want to write about games?

What do you think?

