GOG Fall Sale and guilty pleasure games

Cultures Northland

I have just made some wintery cookies (with chocolate and hazelnuts) that taste a bit like (German) Lebkuchen. This hasn’t been my intention, by the way. It does make me wonder how Lebkuchen is made… I’ll have to look for a recipe.

Anyway, this isn’t why you come here, right? My gaming rant of the day… Okay, no rant, but news that gog.com has started its fall sale and you can currently get “Mount & Blade” for free. Just have a look at their main website (gog.com in case you were wondering) and scroll down a bit until you see “Free game: A special gift for everyone“. This offer lasts for 44 more hours.

Gog.com is a bit like a guilty pleasure for me. I’ve been buying games on there simply for nostalgic reasons. Let’s have a look at them: The Cultures games (part 1 and part 2), for example. I would love to see some similar game nowadays. Maybe a bit faster as it was a bit slow. And having women for more than baby-producing would also be nice. But in general, I really loved those games. They’re similar to the Settlers, but you each of your villagers can be named, can be given a profession and so on. It’s just more micro-managing. At the same time, combat was very boring. At least in the first game. They redid the system later and it worked much better.

Oh… I just wanted to write about my second guilty pleasure, Summoner. I bought it on gog.com despite knowing I’d never play it. But it was my first RPG with such graphics (and not text-based, for example ^^). I bought it on gog even though I did feel guilty spending money for it. However, I am rather glad now that I did so. Back in August, the publisher has taken the game off gog.

One of my favourite games when I want to kill some time is Triple Town, though. It’s not one of the old classics like the ones above. Triple Town got released at the end of 2012. It’s basically a “match 3” game, but the graphics are cute and it’s got a nice puzzle aspect to it. If you want a more complicated puzzle game, try Reus. With the latter, also make sure to listen to the soundtrack. It’s amazing!

What do you think?

