Rift_Faens Retreat current state

My personal oasis in Rift

With the new expansion, Rift added the “Minions” mini game. I won’t go into how the “game” – let’s rather call it “activity” – works. I will save that for a later time. But there are dimension adventures where you get dimension items and can even get keys for dimensions (more on how dimensions work here).

I have been flooded with dimension items ever since. And judging from the price drop of those items on the auction house, so have all other Rift players.

Before, I had my dimension “Faen’s Retreat” and had a rough idea of what I wanted it to be like: A little space that Meffanda has where she can “hide” from the rest of the world. Relax from her life as a hero and world-saver. A place where she can read a book, take a swim in the pond, enjoy the sun on her skin without having to worry about anything. Where maybe once in a while, she invites friends over for dinner.

But with the huge amount of items available in so many places (the Rift store – for in-game currency or alternatively real money, as rewards from seasonal events, some come from crafting and so on), I was overwhelmed. Whenever I started looking at items, I wondered where they came from, if I had enough platinum etc. I also wondered if that one item really was the best I wanted for a certain space. Or it was the other way around. I knew I wanted a shelf, but had no idea if that kind of shelf even existed.

So for a long time, my dimension had a few items in it (see gallery right above this paragraph), but not much. Well, except for the stairs which took me a long time to build! You can see the “early progress” below. Now with the expansion and the minions, this has changed. I get flooded with items, as I already said. But every day, I get those items in my bags. I look at them and think: Does this item fit into my dimension? Sometimes it does, sometimes it doesn’t. I had this great steampunk-y boat and really wanted to use it in my dimension. But really, a boat in a small pond? What’s the use? It looked out of place. Then, just for fun, I put it in the sand. I put it away then and took out the next item: Wooden scaffolding. I had an idea! If she can’t use the boat in here, she may as well still build a boat there. Yeah, maybe not too smart, considering she will have to transport it to a river or a lake later on, but still. And that’s when the little handiwork area got created. I have also slowly started adding stuff to the main house like the second floor on the right and the balcony-garden.

It’s so much more fun to build my dimension this way. It feels very organic, growing a little bit every single day. Only 156 items so far, with a current limit of 570 (I upgraded it to hold more items… very optimistic, but with the amount of items coming in, I know I’ll get there soon!).

What do you think?

