GW2_Mesmer_Illusions

Class names and expectations

Trove Candy BiomeI was just baking some bread while listening to a Trove stream (this one, to be precise) when the streamer was asked if Trove was going to add a healing class any time soon. I thought: Oooh, I would love that! But the streamer’s reply surprised me. “Yes, the candy barbarian will be somewhat of a healing class” (quoted by memory here). Candy barbarian… A healer. When I had heard that class’s name, I imagined a pastel coloured slightly pinkish guy running through cotton balls with an equally pastel coloured axe. Never once did I think that this guy could heal. I also always thought of “him” as a guy, even though my own character, Paeroka, is female and will always be female no matter which class I activate.

Back to the classes – I do have certain expectations towards classes. When I see a game (MMOs and RPGs mostly) I always look at what the classes are called. When they have “mage”, “warrior”, “hunter” and “priest”, I close the website almost immediately. No, thank you. If you can’t even have enough imagination to a) have more than those standard classes or b) at least give them more imaginative names, I can already assume that the game itself won’t offer anything new or intriguing either. Maybe I won’t do the game justice then, but that’s the thing about expectations.

Rift_Warrior fighting

Her build is a pretty standard warrior build: Run in, watch enemies die.

Of course, Rift is falling into that category. The main callings are named “warrior”, “mage”, “rogue” and “cleric”. But Rift advertised having souls and those do have unfamiliar names. My cleric can choose three our of ten callings: Sentinel, inquisitor, justicar, oracle, defiler, cabalist, purifier, warden, shaman and druid. Druid can call faeries to assist in combat, by the way. Purifier is a healing soul. So they clearly fit my expectations. But here comes to downside of having all those nice and imaginative names: I can never remember which soul is which. Justicar or inquisitor – which one was the tank soul?

GW2_Mesmer_Illusions

For those who don’t know, the mesmer in Guild Wars 2 can create clones of itself.

What I’m trying to say here is that a class’s name should ideally give you some kind of an idea what it is about but not be as bland and boring as “warrior”. Or at least, a game should offer more classes to choose from with some “better” names. Warhammer Online comes to my mind (though they had it easy seeing how it was an already established IP): Black orc, Disciple of Khaine, Zealot on the one hand and Engineer, Shaman and Swordmaster on the other. Guild Wars 2 has pretty generic class names mostly (warrior, elementalist, necromancer), but at least, they have more than standard 4 classes and add the mesmer which is a class name I haven’t seen anywhere else yet.

Long story short: Candy Barbarian will be a healer. Okay. I’m still looking forward to trying that class – I love healers, after all!

3 thoughts on “Class names and expectations

  1. Rakuno says:

    When I heard the name Candy Barbarian (in this very blog too!) I was thinking more along of some Conan-esque barbarian in cube form dual-wielding candy canes or something like that. :)

    As far as classes names go, I also don’t like much if all a game has to offer is the old warriors, rogues, wizards and clerics. Nothing against it by itself, but if they don’t offer other more setting-unique classes or don’t go deeper than “Warriors kill stuff with swords, wizards with spells, etc.” then I will also probably pass. This is even worse if their races are just the usual human, elf and dwarf or some obvious derivative of those.

    Anyway, now I am curious on how that candy barbarian heals… Maybe by throwing candy-filled healing pouches at their allies? :)

    Like

    • paeroka says:

      I didn’t catch what he said and couldn’t find any hints online so far. But I remember he said it’s something that happens when the barbarian gets hit? But that was only one spell. The others are unknown. We will get to see the class in about one or two weeks probably. :)

      And yeah. It shows a lack of imagination which in a fantasy setting is never a good omen for the rest of the game.

      Like

What do you think?

