Bookahneer’s Geekwatch (November 2, 2013)

Guild Wars 2 Bookahneer's GeekwatchWelcome to today’s Bookahneer’s Geekwatch! The place about miscellaneous interesting news related to Guild Wars 2 – and on occasion, other games.

You will hear a lot more from Nerdy Bookahs this month. I joined November’s NaBloPoMo. In the past few years, I had tried to do NaNoWriMo, but always failed – at least, since I’ve started blogging and playing MMOs. ;) So when I got an email from WordPress about this event, I thought it’s a perfect alternative. I can write and take care of this blog at the same time. I can play MMOs or other games and write about them. Basically, I can do what I’m doing now, only that I try to up the frequency of writing about my adventures. :) NaBloPoMo happens every month, but November is special, because NaNoWriMo takes place as well. And let’s not forget Movember! While this is not something I can participate in, I think raising awareness of cancer – and available early cancer detection – is always great!

In addition to all of those, there is also a lot of Extra Life play sessions going on this weekend. Players sign up, play for 25 hours and people can donate for them. This money will not go to the players but to Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals. The exact location depends on which hospital the player chose.

I did sign up and joined the Trion Worlds team. I won’t be able to play for 25 hours, but I am also not putting my own “donation page” here. Instead, I rather want to direct you to the Trion Worlds Extra Life site. The team currently consists of over 1900 participants. I’m pretty sure that if you do consider donating, you will find one that you want to support. Elizabeth Tobey, for example, one of the community managers.

Either way, this won’t be a boring weekend. If you’re looking for people’s gaming streams, head over to Twitch as they have their very own Extra Life 2013 category!

3 thoughts on “Bookahneer’s Geekwatch (November 2, 2013)

What do you think?

