Bookahneer’s Geekwatch (May 25, 2012)

Welcome to today’s Bookahneer’s Geekwatch! The place about miscellaneous interesting news related to gaming (will most likely include at least one piece about Guild Wars 2 ^^).

We’ve heard sad news yesterday: 38 studios layed off all their employees yesterday (including all from Big Huge Games). What I found fascinating and encouraging was how fast the hashtag #38jobs appeared. Not long after, a Google document was created listing the various gaming companies that currently have job offers available. That’s what I love about the internet and the sub-communities. People sticking together and helping each other out! Let’s hope those people that are currently without a job will find a new one soon!

The Guild Wars 2 community is as active as ever. Just two examples today: Tilion from DragonSeasonCom gave an interview about their website to Video-Games24.com. Since it’s a Greek website, most of us would probably not understand a single word, so Tilion posted the English translation. Valerian from commentarilies posted a really good piece about the melee mesmer in Guild Wars 2. Yes, I’m biased here because I myself fell in love with that class. Although so far, I prefer a pistol as off-hand weapon. I’ll have to try the other options more, though.

The last week of the Newbie Blogger Initiative is ahead of us. The World’s End Tavern has a list of the new blogs. Have a look at it and maybe you’ll find your favourite new blogger over there!

And last but not least, there’s Because We May starting on May 24 and running till June 1: Independent developers putting their games on sale:

“For the last week of May (May 24 through June 1) our games will be deeply discounted to celebrate online stores that give us control over pricing: The App Store, Google Play, Steam, Desura, IndieVania, and a few others.” (quoted from their website)

6 responses to “Bookahneer’s Geekwatch (May 25, 2012)

  1. I was very surprised about the news of the 38 Studios and Big Huge Games lay offs. It was kinda like they everything was just going well for the development of their MMORPG and then out of the blue this happened. But yes, it is pretty cool how fast people came together to help out those who lost their jobs. Hopefully they will get a new place to work very soon!

    Valorian post about the Mesmer (and your posts too, of course! ;) makes me want to give the Mesmer a try again, now that I have a better understanding of the basics of the game. Before I do that though I think I might test the ranger in the next beta weekend. I was going to test the thief but since that is pretty much on my “must play” list for after the release, the ranger shall be the next one to be tested!

    I am specially curious how the ranger feels with a bow compared to the warrior. Warriors felt pretty natural with a bow so I am curious to see what tricks the ranger has to set them apart from a bow using warrior.

    Also, thanks for the other news! I haven’t paying as much attention to what is going on in the interwebs as I usually do. So posts like this always help.

    • I’d heard about their trouble with paying Rhode Island and paying their employees, so there was some kind of foreshadowing. Doesn’t make it better, though, and of course one was hoping they’d still make it. Especially as they posted screenshots from their MMO and it seemed like they could still continue for a while, at least.

      I’ll definitely have to give the mesmer a try when I have more time than just a beta weekend. I usually feed a bit stressed when it’s just a weekend and don’t really have the patience to properly think about playing strategies etc. ;) Ranger is on my “must try”-list now. ;)

  2. The 38 studios fiasco is a sad f***ing mess, and I can’t help alternating between sympathy for all of the folks who’ve lost their jobs, and anger at the f***ups whose’ mismanagement caused this situation to occur.

    I was really happy to hear about the various efforts to help folks affected by this find new jobs in the industry… and I hope the executives are so stained by their mishandling of this that they have to change careers and are never again allowed to occupy a position of responsibility with influence over the welfare and security of the livelihood of others.

    • Yeah, it definitely sounds like a huge mismanagement. Of course, we don’t know the details. But if SWTOR is rumored to have cost about 300 million US dollars, then I do wonder how a company that got a 75 million US dollar loan can go bankrupt this fast. As I said, we’re lacking details. But it causes lots of raised eyebrows.

      It’s really shocking to read that people found out about it because they suddenly didn’t have a health insurance anymore. O.o We (us Germans) are spoiled whenn it comes to that. When we lose our jobs, the state pays for our health insurance so there’s actually no way for us to not have health insurance. Still, doesn’t make the situation for the former 38 Studios employees any better. :(

      I found it heartwarming to see the reaction in Twitter yesterday, especially when the Google document appeared!

  3. Thanks for the updates on 38 studios. I’ve been reading all of these events through the rest of the blogger community for the last few weeks and all i can say is! WHAT A MESS! Jebuz. I hope everyone can get back on their feet soon. I’ve been unemployed for over a year now. It sucks.

    On a more positive note: Yeah Mesmers! I’ve considered making other characters, even played a warrior through some of the personal story, but i found myself always coming back to the Mesmer. There’s just something about the way they play, it’s totally new and unique and i love it.

    • I’ve found myself to be a bit too impatient for mesmers at the moment. I want to have more time than just a weekend to dig my teeth into this class and read more about it and wonder which weapon combinations are good for my playstyle. So I played the “easier” warrior in the meantime. But I will get back to the mesmer. I love its versatility and the tricky things it can do. As you said, new and unique – and very intriguing! :)

What do you think?

