I’m sick of the holy trinity in MMOs…

…no seriously, it bores me to no end. Endgame consists of three parts.
Part 1: Raiding (to get better gear for… more raiding)
Part 2: PvP (to get better gear for… more PvP)
Part 3: Rolling of an alt (to do Part 1 or Part 2)

Okay, I’m not so sick of part 2 because the combat changes depending on which player you’re fighting against. And part 3 can be quite fun. But why is it that MMOs nowadays can only come up with those three all in all? Is there really nothing else out there for people to do?

Don’t get me wrong. I do not say that I don’t want either of those parts in my dream-MMO. I don’t care about raiding but I know others love it and I wouldn’t want to wish away what others love. But I would like to be able to do other stuff that would ideally be just as important (in players’ eyes) and that developers spend time on and where they would deliver more content later on (as in: When an expansion hits, all systems get updates and expansions. Not just new raids, a new class and maybe a new battleground).

I just remembered something that BioWare had said and fortunately, I found the source quite fast: Bioware about SWTOR’s endgame. I quote: “We’re looking at classic [endgame] systems, but we’re also doing something brand new that hasn’t been done in an MMO before. So we’re going to mix those two together.”

This does sound possibly maybe interesting. We know there’ll be raiding. We also know there’ll be PvP. And they’ve previously said that “We really hope that players will go play other classes because otherwise that would be a waste of resources.” What could the “brand new” stuff be? I don’t think I’ve heard anything about it and I’m curious. “Brand new” sounds good, at least.

3 responses to “I’m sick of the holy trinity in MMOs…

  1. Are you maybe confused about what the “holy trinity” of MMOs is? (Healer, Tank, DPS) Narrowly defined roles based on the class you choose (even if the game allows you to switch to a different narrowly defined role more easily out of combat or back in town… they are STILL narrowly defined.)

    SWTOR will prove to be the MOST “holy trinity” MMO anyone has ever seen. Every player will be forced (no pun intended) to “spec” their character into one of the three trinity roles… it’s right there in all the information they are releasing about their class structure.

    Perhaps I’m misunderstanding your post… if so, I apologize. But, if I understand it correctly then I have to at least caution you to not go looking to SWTOR for relief from narrowly defined “trinity” class roles…

    (It’s reall a shame too… I love the IP.)

    • I’m not confused what the holy trinity usually refers to when talking about MMOs. It was a joke when I called the endgame parts like that. I like confusing people with subject lines that lead to postings that are different than what they would have expected. It worked. ;)

  2. To me the “holy trinity” doesn’t really have anywhere else to go (or no one has thought of anything better) that doesn’t equal “all DPS groups where everyone can heal themselves”, and that to me simply reads as a battleground-type group. This actually doesn’t bother me too much as I think larger MMOs like RIFT or WoW would probably benefit from a grouping system that didn’t include a need for a particular role (in particular, tanks), but then it would exclude people who solely enjoy that role.

    One of the problems I imagine developers find when trying to work with role-less groups is that ultimately there will always be a class that is better at taking damage, better at dealing damage, and better at healing incoming damage, which typically ends with people gravitating towards those classes if they really love tanking/healing/damage dealing, anyway.

What do you think?

