Daily Archives: July 4, 2011

Screenshots in Guild Wars 2

Rubi was one of the lucky people to visit ArenaNet and she has written about her experience playing Guild Wars 2 here. Now, apart from the good stuff (and me mostly skimming it because I don’t want to know every detail before I’ve been able to play it myself :) ), one thing stood out to me:

My character is in every shot because there is no first-person view, something I’m not thrilled about. I asked a nearby dev about that and she said “we want you to see your character.”

To that I can only say: Eep! :o(

Have a look at two screenshots I took in LotRO.

The first one:
This is me on a visit in Rivendell. It was a bright and sunny day. Thankfully, I had remembered to bring my hat or else I’m sure I would have gotten sunburnt immediately! After taking this picture (which a kind elf who walked by gladly took for me*), I went to the Last Homely House to visit Elrond and get an autograph from him.

Now look at the second one:
This is Rivendell. Isn’t the scenery just gorgeous? And look at how far you can see… all the mountains in the back and the beautiful trees!

In other words: While I like taking screenshots of my character in MMOs, I actually like taking pictures of the scenery more. So I really hope I’ll be able to do that in Guild Wars 2 as well. ;)

Also, in case you haven’t noticed it yet: I obviously care about the smallest things in MMOs while other people’s primary concern lies on whether there really won’t be any raids and how good or bad the class balance will be. Please just ignore me and my little niche if you think this is silly. ^^

* Ignore the breaking of lore here, please. I know there are no cameras in LotRO but I haven’t had enough coffee yet to think of an appropriate alternative. ;)