Race and class combinations

So it seems that Guild Wars 2 will allow every race-class combination which is great from a playability standpoint. No class will be underrepresented just because people don’t like the race it’s associated with.

I usually really love playing unusual combinations. I don’t absolutely need to have an unusual combination but so far, I seem to have fallen in love with the them quite often and I like that.


(Seen in picture on the left: My female dwarf rogue in WoW – most unusual combination? At least the runner-up, I’m sure ^^)

I’ve been thinking what I want to play when Guild Wars 2 released. I’m currently playing a warrior in Guild Wars and would really love to play that class as my main again. But I want an Asura! And I’m sure that it’ll not be the most popular combination (not with Norn and Charr around). So it could be perfect… except that this time and with this game, I’ve actually read more about the lore than I have about other games and it seems so unfitting to choose an Asura warrior. Wouldn’t it be an affront to my future Asura to make her a warrior? Wouldn’t she rather use her brain instead of her muscles?

There’s only one solution to it: The two unrevealed classes just have to be so great that I’ll toss the warrior aside and want to have one of those as my main (and, of course, it’ll be a class that uses spells or… anything tricky? instead of pure muscles).

And I’m sure all of this sounds totally irrelevant to those people who just play whichever combination is best and don’t care about the way their character looks. To be honest, I never understood why those people even play MMORPGs which are, at least for me, virtual worlds in which I virtually live and breathe. But that’s a different topic and to each their own. ;) I’d just like to end my little dilemma and either know that in the lore there are great Asuran warriors who care more about pure muscle power or that the next two classes are going to be great ones for my future little Asura girl. ;)

One thought on “Race and class combinations

What do you think?

