Daily Archives: June 10, 2012

Guild Wars 2: Black Citadel in all its glory

The last time, I went sight-seeing in Lion’s Arch. For this BWE, I chose Black Citadel because I haven’t seen or heard that much about this place so far. For reference, read the wiki entry for Black Citadel. As you can see, there isn’t too much information about Black Citadel. Most notable is that it is built above the ruins of Rin which was the capital of Ascalon once in a time, and you can still see the Great Northern Wall on one side of it. You do not even have to look at closely to spot the ruins as they are everywhere in the charr’s city. What surprised me, partly because I obviously had not paid attention to it prior to this BWE, is that the Black Citadel is not the capital of the charr. It is the headquarters of the Iron Legion, which explains the look of the place. I am once again impressed by ArenaNet’s art/world design team! The ruins of Rin together with the Iron Legion’s work formed this city and I couldn’t have imagined it any better if I had tried.

I have taken 285 screenshots but only 80 were uploaded now, because I seriously doubt many people (other than Rakuno, of course) would want to look at that many pictures. If you have any questions about anything you see on the screenshots, feel free to ask.

It took me quite some time to take all those screenshots, sort through them and upload them here. However, they’re not just for looking. If you want to use them (e.g., as a desktop wallpaper, for fanart, in your blog,…) feel free to do so – as long as it complies with ArenaNet’s copyright, of course, and you’re not saying it was you who took those screenshots. ;)